Home > python > UliPad: a lightweight Python editor based on wxPython

UliPad: a lightweight Python editor based on wxPython

Ulipad is a wxPython powered, programmer oriented and flexible editor. It has many features such as class browser, code auto-complete, html viewer, directory browser, wizard and many others.

For writing Python code, I usually use vim (for small scripts) and Eclipse + PyDev (for larger projects with more than one file). Ulipad with the black color scheme looks very similar to the elflord theme of vim that I use, so I felt comfortable right away :) When you save a file in Ulipad, it checks the source against the PEP8 recommendations and provides a list of warnings. Clicking on a warning brings the cursor to the appropriate line, making corrections very easy.

There is only one thing that I missed (or didn’t find): intelligent renaming, i.e. renaming just in a scope. I think this is the most important refactoring step, so it’s a must-have for me. This is one of the main reasons why I use PyDev.

I haven’t tested Ulipad much yet but I plan to use it for smaller scripts. Even if you use another editor, Ulipad can serve you for polishing the source to follow PEP8.

Thanks Yves for recommending UliPad.

Categories: python Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

