Home > python > Upload your first project to PyPI

Upload your first project to PyPI

Today I uploaded my jabbapylib project to PyPI, available here.

For preparing my first public pypi project, I followed this tutorial. For understanding how to package a Python library, read Mark Pilgrim’s corresponding book chapter.

I only want to add the following remarks:

  1. In setup.py, I import “from setuptools import setup, find_packages“. Notice setuptools instead of distutils.core.
  2. In the prepared package I wanted to include the library jabbapylib/ recursively since all the source codes are there. I could do that with this line: “packages = find_packages(exclude=['demos', 'dist', 'tests'])“, i.e. include all subdirectories with the exception of the ones in the list. What remains in my case is the “jabbapylib” folder.
  3. My library has some dependencies, they are specified here: “install_requires=['html5lib', 'psutil', 'pytest']“. When jabbapylib is installed with pip, pip will install these packages too.
  4. You can create your own MANIFEST.in file to specify what to include and what to exclude. However, if you want to add the directory that contains all the sources, do as indicated in step (2).
  5. For checking, packaging and uploading I made some simple scripts.
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

