Home > django > [django] getting started

[django] getting started

This summer I want to dive into Django, so I start a series of blog posts about this topic. Its goal is twofold: (1) it will serve for me as a future reference, and (2) maybe you, the reader, will also find something useful. The title of these posts will start with the “[django]” prefix.

I suppose you know the basics of Python. To get acquainted with Django, start with the official documentation. There you can find an excellent tutorial (the famous “poll tutorial”). Here is Part 1.

Prepare an exercise book and a pen! As you progress, make notes! Don’t copy/paste the code, type in everything! If you run through the tutorial without making any notes, you will forget it in a few days (as I did anno).

Another great resource is the “Two Scoops of Django” book. Parallely with the poll tutorial, you can start reading this book too. So far I’ve only read the first 5 chapters, but it’s very useful. It shows you the best practices in Django development. In the first 5 chapters you will learn a lot:

  • different import options
  • optimal dev. environment (PostgreSQL, pip, virtualenv, virtualenvwrapper)
  • how to lay out Django projects (a must read!!!)
  • multiple settings and requirements files (for dev., for production)
  • etc.

For me the most important info was (1) to use virtualenvwrapper, and (2) how to lay out a Django project. (As I mentioned, I’m at the beginning of the book. As I saw, it’s full of goodies, so I will continue to read it.)

Categories: django Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

