Home > bash, python > create a virtual environment easily

create a virtual environment easily

I prefer to put my larger projects in a virtual environment (there are people who put every project in a virt. env. …). I keep my projects in Dropbox (thus they are available on all my machines), but the virt. env.’s are kept outside Dropbox since they can grow quite big (and they are easily reproducible).

For creating virt. env.’s, I use virtualenvwrapper, which (by default) puts virt. env.’s in the folder ~/.virtualenvs. Say I have a project in Dropbox, and I want to create a virt. env. for it. How to do it easily?

First, you need to know if your project is written in Python 2 or Python 3. Then, you need to use the mkvirtualenv command but I always need to look up its syntax. Solution: in the root folder of my project I want a script that will create a virt. env. for the project. Here is the script:

#!/usr/bin/env bash

# mk_venv.sh

# which Python version to use in the created virt. env. (2 or 3)

source `which virtualenvwrapper.sh` && mkvirtualenv -p `which python${PYTHON_VER}` $f

Just set PYTHON_VER and launch the script. It will figure out the name of the current folder and create a virt. env. with this name. For instance, if you have your project in ~/projects/stuff, then the virt. env. will be created in the folder ~/.virtualenvs/stuff.

Related links

Categories: bash, python Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

